Standard Carrier Alpha Code (SCAC)  - File or Renew Your SCAC Code Online
Online SCAC Code Filing System is a private, third-party provider offering services for a fee. This is a commercial solicitation and advertisement. is NOT affiliated with any government authority. 

Need a new SCAC code?

Need to renew your existing SCAC code?

We are now accepting renewals
for 2021-2022. Note: Renewals will be 
processed and issued in January 2021. 

 Deadline: June 30, 2021
*The Standard Carrier Alpha Code (SCAC) is a unique two-to-four-letter code used to identify transportation companies. The SCAC code is the recognized transportation company identification code used in the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Accredited Standards Committee (ASC) X12 and United Nations EDIFACT approved electronic data interchange (EDI) transaction sets such as the 856 Advance Ship Notice, the 850 Purchase Order and all motor, rail and water carrier transactions where carrier identification is required. The SCAC code is required on tariffs filed with the Surface Transportation Board (STB). The United States Bureau of Customs and Border Protection (CBP) has mandated the use of the SCAC code for their Automated Commercial Environment (ACE), Automated Manifest (AMS) and Pre-Arrival Processing (PAPS) Systems. SCAC codes are used in the Food and Drug Administrations (FDA) Prior Notice System Interface (PNSI) used for tracking imported food.
SCAC codes are required when doing business with all U.S. Government agencies and with many commercial shippers including, but not limited to, those in the automobile, petroleum, forest products, and chemical industries as well as suppliers to retail businesses and carriers engaged in railroad piggyback trailer and ocean container drayage. Carriers who use the Uniform Intermodal Interchange Facilities Access Agreement (UIIA) are required to maintain a valid SCAC code. The petroleum industry uses SCAC codes in their integrated software programs that expedite the movement of bills of lading, pipeline tickets, product transfer orders, and inventory data. Many commercial shippers and receivers utilize SCAC codes in their freight bill audit and payment systems.
Certain groups of SCAC codes are reserved for specific purposes. SCAC codes ending with the letter "U" are reserved for the identification of freight containers. SCAC codes ending with the letter "X" are reserved for the identification of privately owned railroad cars. SCAC codes ending with the letter "Z" are reserved for the identification of truck chassis and trailers used in intermodal service.
NEW: $95 SCAC+$230 SERVICE FEES* = $325
RENEWAL:  $86 SCAC+$189 SERVICE FEES* = $275

*Includes bank fees/surcharges.

You may obtain or renew a SCAC code online through this website operated by Excelsior, a third-party online SCAC code application filing service. See refund policy below.  

SafeRenew Notice: 

SafeRenew Notice: In the event you opt to participate in the automatic SCAC SafeRenew renewal program, you understand and agree that you may cancel the upcoming renewal on or before December 31st, by writing to You will be reminded in advance via the email we have on file for you before your card is charged. If you are still in our SCAC SafeRenew database as of January 1st, you will be charged for the renewal and cannot cancel until the following year (before January 1st).

(800) 761-7310
Once you submit your order, there are

Copyright 2011-2021,
a truck permit company.
All Rights Reserved.